How I made a U-turn from fiction to tech writing

Wheeew! Here we go.. I never imagined writing my first tech blog post by past midnight and with sleepy eyes but I guess we can always delay sleep for love!

Writing has been my pal for as long as I can remember. Whenever someone ill-treated me as a child, I’d often start crafting exaggerated stories of a maltreated child. Sometimes these stories would even make me cry, can you imagine? When I read a good book, I tried to replicate it in my own words. I didn’t need a prophecy to tell me that I loved Writing but I never considered it as a main career. Why? Because where I come from, writing is not prestigious enough to be a full-time job. Such irony.

How did I get here?

Well, while studying my “prestigious course” in school, I needed some extra cash to get by. Since my studies are full time and I could only do remote jobs, guess who came to my rescue? Yes, you’re right. My heroic chronicles! I wrote fiction for as long as I could, until the degrading pay almost froze my creativity. I do not push the narrative that money is a sole driving factor but trust me, when you work your fingers to the bone and get rewarded with crumbs, there’ll hardly be any motivation to straighten those fingers and get to work again.

“Good incentives are necessary to refuel your passion and keep the flame burning!”

And Oh! The impact of social media, nothing amplifies what you’re lacking more than seeing it present in someone else. Imagine when I saw these “tech bros” and “tech sis” living the dream. I do not have the perseverance for calculations to go into coding but reading and writing is my niche. You don’t want to imagine the ecstasy when I discovered that this was enough to make me a “tech sis” (add a laptop to that).

Transitioning from fiction to tech writing wasn’t blissful. I never thought I’d start. The procrastinations, the cluelessness of where to begin and overwhelming feeling that came with not understanding any of these technical jargons. “HTML5, Blockchain, JavaScript, Web3” I love letters but seeing letters and numbers together? They appeared like missiles. As much as I loved the promising future of a tech career, it’s emotional to turn your back on your first love. I did feel like an unfaithful lover at the beginning but a baby girl has moved on now!

What am I up to now?

I’m consuming. I’m hungrily devouring every content and information I can get on tech while freelancing to build up my portfolio. Twitter posts, hashnode blog posts, YouTube videos, MOOCs, just name it! And yes, I play around with those missile-like words now. Am I living the dream life? Not yet. But the thought of my earning potentials with these skills makes me want to stay up and write some more(”yawns” Although it might be a better idea to catch some sleep right now and dream about it instead)

Writing is my solace, my medicine, my baby. I’d often read my stories to an audience and watch out for their emotions. I loved the awe of having totally created something out of nothing. Now after I write a tech article, I stand back and admire it more proudly because this is real. The reality that someone can take a piece that I’ve put together, apply it to their real life needs and solve their problems just constantly blows my mind.

And I’ve done it again, I was so sleepy when I started typing this post. I didn’t actually believe that I’ll go through with it but I shot my doubts in the leg by clicking the preview icon. Immediately I caught a glimpse of how this post was going to look like, I knew there was no going back. Here we are, I welcome you to the ever-learning world of this technical writer!